Myth Buster 44: It Is Better to Eat Tikoy or Nan Giao That was Given As A Gift!

Published Pebrero 6, 2017 by jptan2012
tikoy2

Photo uploaded from Google Images.

This is a post – Lunar New Year post. The past weeks, I think I have about 7 people ask me whether it is true that Tikoy or Nan Giao or Chinese New Year Sticky Rice Cake is better eaten if one received it as gift.

There is no truth to this belief.

To be honest I’m not sure whether where this belief originated but it seems to prevalent only amongst Filipinos. One reason I can think of is that they see their Chinese ‘brothers’ get so happy to receive Tikoy or Nan Giao(s). And some of them might have said that it is lucky to receive Nan Giao.

Well, in a way it’s true, but in only as much as it is lucky to receive any gift from a person, because the act of giving comes with some good chi.

For questions, comments, and suggestions please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

