How I Temporarily Tame The Monkey Mind

Published October 27, 2016 by jptan2012
monkey-mind1

Photo uploaded from Google Images

The Monkey Mind is what Buddhist calls a mind that is not a peace and is actively thinking of a lot of thoughts. It is also what Buddhist call if your mind is anxious, meaning you are under an anxiety attack.

I thought I’d write this article because I find that a lot of my readers are suffering from an anxious mind, or Monkey Mind. This is not unusual per se because in this world that is full of information, a world where technology has brought us so much distraction, our mind is never ‘silent’ and it has brought us so much things to think about that our mind is never at peace thus anxiety cases has risen in the last few decades.

We have a Monkey Mind when we jump into conclusions about things that haven’t even started to happen yet. We worry, we get angry, we feel cheated, we feel lonely, and we feel disturbed.

I used to suffer from these things a lot, but every time I will feel that my Monkey Mind is taking over, I make sure that I quiet it down.

There are many ways of doing it. But for me the way I do it is I visualize Amitabha Buddha or Bodhisattva Guan Yin (also spelled or called as Guan Shi Yin, Kuan Shi Yin, Kuan Yin, Avalokitesvara, Cannon, Kannon). Then I breathe in and while breathing out I chant their mantra. The mantra of Buddha Amitabha is OM AMI DEWA HRIH and the mantra of Guan Yin Bodhisattva is OM MANI PADME HUM.

By visualizing them and chanting their mantras, I do not only calm my Monkey Mind but I also invoke their blessings.

For comments, questions, and suggestions please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

