The Buddhist Neighbor

Published Oktubre 17, 2016 by jptan2012

I’m really quite happy that I received the traditional copy of THE SUTRA OF THE PAST VOWS OF THE EARTH STORE BODHISATTVA (also called known as Ksitigarbha Bodhisattva) and THE DIAMOND OF PERFECT WISDOM SUTRA just when we are settling to our new home. As I have said these traditional sutra amulets provides protection but more than that they also provide wonderful blessings. I have been looking and aspiring to get such sutras to be place in our house or even in my room. However, even if it is quite common for temples to have them, they are not for sale, neither it is regularly given to the temple goers. Furthermore, while they are in itself carries with it some power; it will be better to get one that was consecrated by a qualified lama or monk. Not all monks are qualified to consecrate a sutra amulet.

sutra-amulets

These are just one copy each of the very limited copies sent to me by my Guru Lama of the THE SUTRA OF THE PAST VOWS OF THE KSITIGARBHA BODHISATTVA, THE DIAMOND OF PERFECT WISDOM SUTRA and THE MEDICINE BUDDHA SUTRA. Sutras are also used as very powerful amulets, that is why you will often old Buddhist Chinese houses has a copy of the Sutra on their altar though they might not be reciting the sutra itself.

But what I want to share now is that when we first moved to our new home, and although we got all the most auspicious omens which I have written about a few posts ago, we sometimes still can’t help but miss our old home. We have been living in our old home since 1980, and moving to new home, even one we have grown to love right away still makes us feel a little ‘homesick’. I think one of the reasons for this; we practically don’t know any of our neighbors. My mom who is not in her 70’s had to make new friends in our neighborhood and it would be quite difficult, especially when we never had any other neighbors than Chinese and pure Filipino, but now some of our neighbors are Spanish mestizo or mestizo.

diamond-sutra2

These are just one copy each of the very limited copies sent to me by my Guru Lama of the THE SUTRA OF THE PAST VOWS OF THE KSITIGARBHA BODHISATTVA, THE DIAMOND OF PERFECT WISDOM SUTRA and THE MEDICINE BUDDHA SUTRA. Sutras are also used as very powerful amulets, that is why you will often old Buddhist Chinese houses has a copy of the Sutra on their altar though they might not be reciting the sutra itself.

One other reason is that there is no Buddhist temple that is near our place. I think the nearest is about 45 minutes away. Unlike before where it was only 8 minutes away, on top of that, we’ve designed our house to include a big image of a Bodhisattva Kuan Yin (also called or spelled as Avalokitesvara, Guan Yin, Kuan Shi Yin, Guan Shi Yin, Kannon, Cannon) on our small and humble front lawn, and the image of Guan Yin Bodhisattva can be seen outside. Several times when we light incense or made offerings in that particular image of Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, I noticed some car slowing down or there are a few who really can’t resist but to stare. From what I know there are very few Filipino – Chinese in our new subdivision and I really haven’t seen any of them. And maybe there would be even fewer Buddhist, and we were informed by the person who sold us the property that the subdivision is predominantly Catholic.

About a week since we moved in to our new home, neighbors started introducing themselves, and our image of Kuan Shi Yin Bodhisattva on our small and humble front lawn became the main focus of these conversations. My mom told me that she felt awkward explaining to our new neighbors as to why do we make offerings in front of the image. However, I think this seems to be an indication that they are genuinely interested in what we do and told my mom that she can use this as an opportunity to talk about Buddhism. But she clearly pointed out to me that she doesn’t have the passion of talking about her faith to people.

Anyway, when I received the traditional copies of the sutra amulets, and my Guru Lama said I and my family can have one each of THE SUTRA OF THE PAST VOWS OF THE KSITIGARBHA BODHISATTVA and THE DIAMOND OF PERFECT WISDOM SUTRA (also called THE VAJRA CUTTER PERFECTION OF WISDOM SUTRA or THE VAJRA SUTRA or THE VAJRA CUTTER SUTRA or THE DIAMOND SUTRA), and so as I said I was really happy to place them on the altar. It is customary that each member of the family to have one wish each as you put the sutras on the altar (we got two wishes each because there are two sutras), my youngest nephews all of a sudden uttered that his only wish is for his grandmother (my mother) to meet a Buddhist neighbor so that his grandmother won’t feel like she’s an alien.

earth-store-bodhisattva-sutra-traditional

These are just one copy each of the very limited copies sent to me by my Guru Lama of the THE SUTRA OF THE PAST VOWS OF THE KSITIGARBHA BODHISATTVA, THE DIAMOND OF PERFECT WISDOM SUTRA and THE MEDICINE BUDDHA SUTRA. Sutras are also used as very powerful amulets, that is why you will often old Buddhist Chinese houses has a copy of the Sutra on their altar though they might not be reciting the sutra itself.

Guess what? The next day, one of our neighbors (well they’re from two streets away) rang our bell and welcomed us with a pot of a vegetarian dish. They are a couple around 60 something. The wife is a Filipina and the husband is Irish, and they both happen to be practicing Buddhist for more than 20 years already! They said they’re happy that have a Buddhist neighbor. I wasn’t there at that time, but my mom said that she told them that she was happy to finally have met a Buddhist neighbor!

If you wish to know more about the Sutra Amulet (A Special Recite – A – Sutra Article) Series you can click on the links below:

If you wish to read the Sutras mentioned above, you can download them by clicking on the link:

Sutra of the Past Vows of Earth Store Bodhisattva

The Diamond Sutra

For questions, comments, suggestions, please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

 

