When You Experienced A Miracle or Some Good Luck, Do Not Forget What You Promised When You Were Down!

Published September 21, 2016 by jptan2012

VS is a 57 – year – old husband and father of six. He is a Taiwanese who got the opportunity to meet my Guru Lama in one his trips to Taipei. VS who grew up as a Buddhist heard from one of his friend that there is a visiting Tibetan monk who will give an intimate talk in their local Buddhist temple. VS for some reason thought of seeking out my Guru Lama.

Unfortunately, VS was not able to get into the talk. The temple did accommodate more than what the original number that they announced but because the place is quite small, they were unable to accommodate more even if they wanted to. But my Guru Lama, upon hearing that there are more people waiting outside the Buddha Hall, decided to do a short blessing for those who wanted to hear him talk. Mind you my Guru Lama is not a famous Lama but somehow he attracted a large group. My Guru Lama to personally bless one – by – one everybody who wasn’t able to enter the hall to hear him talk.

When it was VS’ turn to be blessed, he broke the instructions and begged my Guru Lama to give him time to talk to him because he wants to air out his concerns. My Guru Lama agreed to meet after the session ended.

In that session he aired out his sentiments, my Guru Lama never shared with me what he and VS talked about that day. But when I met VS in a special ceremony conducted by my Guru Lama in Singapore, VS shared with me what he shared.

According to VS, he has been poor all his life, and has been going to the temple to pray that he may have a better life, a good life. He also said that two of his sons, unfortunately got into drugs and he said that’s also the other reason he wanted to seek out my Guru Lama. Furthermore, the most important reason for seeking out my Guru Lama is that his wife has cancer and he was hoping my Guru Lama could help.

VS shared with me that my Guru Lama took pity on him and gave him a special amulet. When he got the amulet he made a promised to the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas thru my Guru Lama that when his life become better he will make donations to the temple (not necessarily at the temple of my Guru Lama) and that he will continue to feed the monks and Buddhist nuns in India.

A few months after that he said he was offered by a rich guy to become an industrial partner in a business that the rich guy is putting up. His wife’s cancer was healed through chemotherapy, even though initially the doctors said that they are not very optimistic that the chemotherapy will take the cancer out, but it will only prolong the life of his wife. Both of his kids went to rehab and were eventually released ‘rehabilitated’.

That was about 7 years ago. I met VS 4 years ago when he was only about 53 years old. He looks old. He looks about 70 and I’m not exaggerating. We both met in Singapore in a special ceremony conducted by my Guru Lama. He went there for free thru a sponsorship of the other students of my Guru Lama. Somebody hosted him because he was too poor to get a hotel room, even a budget one.

What happened? According to VS he was not able to fulfill his promise. He didn’t make the donation; he didn’t donate for the food of the monks or nuns. But most importantly, he forgot about the Buddhas or Bodhisattvas, he forgot about my Guru Lama, and worst of all he forgot what gave him the luck. His wife passed away because of cancer, one of his sons died of overdose, and his other son is also back being a drug addict. He lost his business because his business partner pulled out because VS ‘became a different person’.

VS is the one who shared with me all these. I asked him whether he became bitter and he said yes. He contacted my Guru Lama again, and like a prodigal son by Guru Lama ‘accepted’ him again. According to my Guru Lama the reason why VS had bad luck again is because he sort of ‘lied’ and indirectly ‘slandered’ the Buddhas, the Bodhisattvas, and the Sangha by renegading on his promises that he made when he was really down. He did get his good luck, but it was not sustained because he forgot about his promises.

Some people might say that this is harsh. Maybe, but we should all remember that karma is not controlled by the Buddha or Buddha or Bodhisattva or Bodhisattvas. It is totally dependent on what we do. They may help prevent it but in the end by showering us with good merits, but at the end of the day, it is up to us. In this case, VS was the one who discredit the good luck that he got.

I write this now I also notice that some people when they consult me for concerns and try to request for either the Vajrapani Ruel or Surangama Mantra Amulet or the Illness Suppression Amulet, they tend to make promises like – when I get a miracle I will do this, I will do that. But sometimes they fail to do so. It doesn’t matter whether the promise was mentioned to me, to a friend, or even just to one’s self. Because a miracle is a miracle, and once you commit to do something for the temple or the Buddha or a Bodhisattva do it. There should be no excuses.


For comments, suggestions, and questions please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

