Myth Buster 40: The Ashes of a Black Cat Will Enable You to See & Fight Demons!

Published May 18, 2016 by jptan2012

black catIt’s been quite some time since I wrote about an article under the MYTH BUSTER category. But today, allow me share a pervasive myth amongst the local of Siquijor (a province in the Philippines known for witchcraft and stories of Manananggal or local vampires). In a trip to Siquijor a few months back, some people told me that I will never see a pure black cat in Siquijor because the albularyos (local shamans) hunts the black cat, kill them, then burn it and use the ash in looking for demons and fighting them. I was quite surprised and told my guide to hook me up with an albularyo who practices this because I would surely love to understand more about this practice.

Some of my friends who are with me warned me not to talk to the albularyos because I might get hexed or bewitched. I was pretty confident that it wouldn’t happen because I have my Kalachakra Pendant and more importantly I have my Vajrapani Ruel and Surangama Mantra Amulet.

I was lucky enough to meet two elderly albularyos who absolutely forbid me to take their photo because they believe that their soul might be captured by the camera or photo (I will discuss this in succeeding posts). Anyway, they told me that this is a known way to best see and fight a demon, but it is a practice that is quite difficult to do. At the end, they said that they have tried it, however, they don’t know the actual ritual thus are unable to do it.

I got really curious about this practice and decided to do more research about it. I found out that ancient Hebrews also believes in this practice. Now the question is there truth to this?

The variables present as was shared with me are they only need of the ashes of black cat and some prayer. If I’m going to base it on this alone, I think this is more of a myth. Why? Because an ash has no chi. It is literally without energy thus it can be used into a spiritual object or amulet. In fact, Buddhist prefers to be cremated because in that case they won’t have to worry as to where to put the ash. Once a person has been cremated, one will not need to worry about the Feng Shui of the burial site because the ashes have no chi.

For questions, comments, or suggestions please email


