Display Nian Gao or Tikoy On the Eve of Chinese New Year and Eat It The Day After Chinese New Year!

Published January 30, 2016 by jptan2012

Photo uploaded from Google Images.

People have been asking me what are some of the Chinese New Year ritual that one can do. In our household, although, unfortunately because I’m working on my book and had to work closely with my publisher and editor in Kuala Lumpur I might not be able to spend Chinese New Year at home this year, we always have Nian Gao or what is more popularly known as Tikoy here in the Philippines.

When I first learned about Feng Shui, I have always insisted and made sure that we will have Tikoy or Nian Gao (the Chinese New Year Sticky Rice Cake) on our table, because I remember that the very first thing that my Feng Shui teacher in Hong Kong, and the one in Singapore said is to always make sure there is Nian Gao on the table on the eve of Chinese New Year and to eat it a day after Chinese New Year.


This is because a Tikoy or Nian Gao with it’s round shape symbolizes perfect Man’s Luck, one of the Luck in the Three Lucks of Feng Shui, namely Heaven’s Luck, Man’s Luck, and Earth’s Luck. Furthermore, because a Nian Gao when uncooked (the one that we buy on the store is already cooked, we just cook it again by frying it), is a little smaller than when it is cook, so it symbolizes prosperity. Lastly, it’s stickiness symbolizes harmony.

Having this on the table on the eve of Chinese New Year, which this year happens on February 8, 2016 and all through Chinese New Year, then eating them after Chinese New Year is a symbolic way of enhancing your Man’s Luck, creating prosperity and harmony.

For questions, comments, and suggestions please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

