Myth Buster 37: Bite A Tree or A Faucet When You Dream that Someone Died!

Published November 16, 2015 by jptan2012

One day when I got to one of my favorite coffee shop I was heartily welcomed by one of the employee. She knows me quite well because she sees me a lot in that particular coffee shop and have often strike a conversation with me. She also started reading my blog when she found out that I blog about Feng Shui. She has always been cheerful when she sees me but this day was extra ordinary and I was further surprised when she quipped that she needs and practically demanded and somewhat beg that the Vajrapani Ruel be made available for her.

She furthered explained that she has been waiting for me for 4 days, and have been praying that I come to the shop. I asked her why she was so frantic to see me, and that’s when I learned the whole story.dream death dying

TK, is a 39 – year – old manager of my favorite coffee shop, and I also know that she is a wife and a mother to a teenage son, however, what I didn’t know until then is that when she got pregnant with her son she had some complications and that she will not be able to conceive again. She also told me that a few nights before she dreamt that her 12 – year – old died and was fetch by her deceased father. The dream was really short and she can’t even describe the surroundings and the nature of the death, all she was sure of is that her son died, and her son’s maternal grandfather, her father came to pick him up. And that is why she has decided that she really needs the Vajrapani Ruel to help save her son. She also clarified that she and her husband has tried to prevent that dream from happening by listening to what their elders told them that they should bite into a tree or a faucet. This is a popular Filipino belief, but since they are not sure, which one they should bite into, they said to bite both, but just to be sure she still want the Vajrapani Ruel. More than that she said she also has prohibited her son from going out without any company. Now, if she hadn’t been so serious and really worried that simply telling me her dream is making her cry, I would have laugh!

Why? Well, I can assure you I’m not being cruel but for those of you who have been reading my blog might remember a previous Myth Buster post entitled – MYTH BUSTER 23: DREAMS ARE THE OPPOSITE OF REALITY – DREAMING OF A POT OF GOLD!

TK’s case is no different. As I said in that particular post there is a popular misconception that dreams are the opposite of reality, and I quote myself on that particular post: “Now I would like to address here the myth that all dreams are opposite of the reality. For example, a lot of people believe that you dream of laughing that would mean there is sadness. Or if you dream of wealth you’ll have a problem. That is a big myth. There is no truth to it. Dreams are seldom interpreted that way. There is no clear-cut way of interpreting dreams. So don’t believe that it is always the opposite of truth.”

However, having said that, dreams should also not always be interpreted as prophetic. And I would like to clarify myself here; dreams can be prophetic, but even that prophetic one more often than not they are also symbolic.

It was pretty obvious that TK’s dream about his son is quite symbolic and that death here does not mean that her son is going to dye, but that her son’s old self is dying. What about TK’s deceased father picking him up? Well, the way I see it her son is maturing already and he is starting to show personalities, mannerisms, or attitudes that are quite similar to TK’s father.

After assuring TK that nothing bad is happening to her son and that she doesn’t need the Vajrapani Ruel, I told her of my interpretation of her dream. And she laugh because she said her husband has been telling her that their son at age 12 is staring to be mature and that indeed he is showing some personality traits that is very similar to his maternal grandfather.

So the next time you dream of something bad, don’t panic, keep calm and try to analyze its symbolic side. Really it’s the dreamer who can usually explain it, and while I may have help lead TK with the interpretation, she was the one who really was able to concretize everything.

For questions, suggestions, and comments pleas email

