Serendipity and Affinity (Part 2)

Published Disyembre 28, 2014 by jptan2012

In my earlier post, I talked about Serendipity, now I would like to talk about Affinity. In Chinese there is a word called Yuen, which really has no direct English translation, but the closest word for it is affinity.

The Taoist and Feng Shui believers do believe that we sometimes have yuen or affinity with some Deities, Gods, Buddhas, or Bodhisattvas. The Buddhist don’t believe this, I personally tend to believe that yuen do exists but it is not a precursor for us to be able to get the help of the Buddhas or Bodhisattvas.

The Taoist belief that if you have yuen or affinity with a God or Buddha or Bodhisattva or Deity, your prayers tend to be heard better and it’ll be easier for you to receive a blessing. It is also said that if you have yuen or affinity, you’ll personally feel closer to the said Deity, God, Buddha or Bodhisattva.

Personally, while I believe in yuen or affinity with the Buddhas, I don’t believe that this makes it easier for you to receive their blessings, it only means that you may be more attuned to their messages and you might feel closer to them. Whether it is easier or they will give us more blessings because we have affinity with each other should be the same with all people, but yuen or affinity might make us more attuned to their message and blessings.

Writing this because just recently, TK, a reader who had had the opportunity to consult and meet with me in person exhibited a strong affinity with the Bodhisattva of Compassion or Avalokitesvara aka Kuan Yin.

TK, consulted me about her family, and the initial reading showed that she should wear an image of Kuan Yin carved out of a Pink Chalcedony. Luckily, she was able to acquire one and after wearing it for a few months, it got broken. I think it got broken because she needed to be cleansed of a negative energy that may be causing her some harm thus causing her family problems. She has to replace it with another Kuan Yin pendant carved out of a High Grade Black Dragon Obsidian stone, this is quite hard to find but she found one. Then after while she also needed a Kuan Yin carved out of a Golden Chalcedony. Again, this is a very rare stone, but for some weird reason, just a day before she looked for one, a supplier has one, which arrived just a day before she started looking for one.

The Kuan Yin with the Heart Sutra is part of the Holy Trinity of Protection for the 2015 Year of the Wood Sheep. The sutra can be carried separately.

The Kuan Yin with the Heart Sutra is part of the Holy Trinity of Protection for the 2015 Year of the Wood Sheep. The sutra can be carried separately.

I guess one of the biggest surprises was when I wrote about THE HEART OF THE PRAJNA PARAMITA SUTRA where I mentioned my Kuan Yin with Heart Sutra pendant. Most of you would know that it is quite difficult to find this particular pendant, and I myself had only come across it a few times. However, TK for some reason read my article and somehow although they don’t know each other, another person who is not a regular reader of my blog also happened to check my blog and read that particular post. It also happened that he still has one Kuan Yin with Heart Sutra pendant left. Then for some reason, TK also received a message from a person who all of sudden thought of sending her message, TK mentioned about the pendant, and this person also happened to have gotten a call from the person who read my post who has the pendant. Needless to say, this person became a bridge for TK to have the pendant.

Back side of my Kuan Yin pendant. You can see though it's small the The The Heart of the Prajna Paramita Sutra is written behind it.

Back side of my Kuan Yin pendant. You can see though it’s small the The The Heart of the Prajna Paramita Sutra is written behind it.

When a monk heard about the story and when he got TK’s birthday and name, he said TK has yuen or affinity with Kuan Yin. I also had come to this conclusion myself. The coincidences is simply too much. I guess TK is so lucky to have yuen with Kuan Yin.

 

For comments, suggestions, or questions please email sanaakosirickylee@gmail.com

