Serendipity and Affinity (Part 1)

Published December 27, 2014 by jptan2012

One thing that I really love about traveling is the fact that I can use the waiting time at the airport to write, and because I have been doing a lot official/business traveling the past few months, most of what I’ve written lately came from all the waiting at the airport. My next 7 or 8 posts are all written at the airport also, so expect several posts in the next few days. They will be automatically published via scheduled posting.

But before we move to the main topic, I would like to remind everybody who is interested to get a general view of what’s in store for the coming 2015 Year of the Wood Sheep to read the following articles:



Today, I would like to write about serendipity and affinity. The first is a widely accepted occurrence in Feng Shui, Taoism, and Buddhism, while the second one is a debated phenomenon in Buddhism, but widely accepted in Taoism and Feng Shui.

A reader of this blog who since then become a very good friend, DU, has exhibited the truth that serendipity really happens. I do not doubt that this phenomenon really exist, but I’m writing it here because I just want to make a point that we should not ignore the serendipitous moments in our life.

I’m making DU as an example here because by virtue of my closeness to her, I also witnessed a lot of this serendipitous occurrence in here life. A lot of these manifested in the form of her being able to acquire the needed charms or amulets either for her or for her loved ones.

DU and her husband is one of the few people who contacted me to request for the WISH FULFILLING AND BUDDHA’S BLESSING MANTRA PENDANT. As most of you know, requesting for the pendant comes with a Bazi or Paht Chee reading as well. The chart of DU’s husband shows that he will need a Thousand – Hand Kuan Yin pendant. For those of you who are familiar with acquiring either gold or semi – precious stones pendant would know that there is no Thousand – Hand Kuan Yin pendant that has been manufactured that’s really close to what a Thousand – Hand Kuan Yin should be, or as close as to her image. But much to my surprise, somebody offered me one a few days before my meeting with DU and her husband, and to make the long story short, with a heavy heart even though I really love the pendant it went to them.

This is a very rare Thousand - Hand Kuan Yin pendant. Most Thousand - Hand Kuan Yin pendant will only feature a little more than ten hands, but this one has a lot. Not to mention that it is made of good quality jade.

This is a very rare Thousand – Hand Kuan Yin pendant. Most Thousand – Hand Kuan Yin pendant will only feature a little more than ten hands, but this one has a lot. Not to mention that it is made of good quality jade.

Not to mention the price of the pendant, although it’s made of high quality jade is not very expensive. I think in peso it was only about Php 20,000.00 or Php 25,000.00. More than a year after they got the pendant, I was able to come across the same pendant online, and while it’s made of cheaper quality of jade, it costs several thousands more. I don’t really remember the price but I think it’s about US$ 40,000.00!

Also for DU’s husband, just recently because he is about to go through some changes in his life, he is in need of a Bat with Coin made of Lapis Lazuli pendant. Again, for those who are familiar with it, its quite difficult to get this particular combination, but surprisingly, there is one reputable supplier of good quality Lapiz Lazuli who has it in the particular image that DU’s husband’s needs. And it’s the only one left. Needless to say, they acquired it.

DU ‘s brother also need an image of La Tza, again this is a very difficult image to find, especially one carved in jade. I told DU that it is quite difficult to get this, but I think she was the one who told me to call up my supplier, which I did, and lo and behold there is one piece. Again needless to say they acquired it, and when a Taoist monk was blessing it, the monk expressed surprised that we got hold of such image.

DU had so much more experience regarding serendipity. I don’t really remember all her serendipitous experience, but recently, we just found out that she’ll need an original design Lock Coin, however, there are several kinds of lock coin in the Feng Shui market and not all of them are appropriate. Somehow, she remembered in our past conversation that someone is selling a lock coin, so when we called up the person, indeed she still has the lock coin and more than just having it, she’s selling it at a discounted rate. Furthermore, DU also needs a Star of David pendant, we’ve been looking for a Star of David for a few months because she really wants it but unfortunately, we didn’t found any. But the want has since become a need and surprisingly we found one and what’s more the Star of David is made of Citrine, a stone that DU needs and want also. So she inquired about the price, but is unavailable to afford it. So she had to let go of it. But then when the money for the Star of David came she inquired again, unfortunately, it’s no longer available. Naturally, we thought that it is really not for her. As it turn out, there is another Star of David made of Citrine that is gem quality that is coming, again needless to say she got it for herself.

DU has so much more serendipitous experience, every time she will need something, it seems like it will naturally come to her. I believe that it is fate telling her that she really needs them and that she should get them.


For comments, suggestions, or questions please email

