Clarifications on the Post About the 2014 Hungry Ghost Month and Mercury Retrograde

Published June 20, 2014 by jptan2012

I know that the information shared on this blog the other day about the 2014 Hungry Ghost Month and Mercury Retrograde entitled – WHAT EVERYONE NEEDS TO KNOW ABOUT THE 2014 HUNGRY GHOST MONTH AND MERCURY RETROGRADE – & – PROTECT YOURSELF FROM THE ILL EFFECTS OF THE 2014 HUNGRY GHOST MONTH AND MERCURY RETROGRADE – can be a little overwhelming for a lot of you. Almost immediately I was bombarded by literally hundreds of emails, which I really haven’t read. On top of that, there were also an overwhelming number of sms that was sent to me, not to mention several phone calls.

I thought it is only appropriate to clarify something for everybody’s better understanding of the topic.

First, Mercury Retrograde is as mentioned a Western Astrology concept, I’m not an expert and I don’t have mastery of the said topic, however, I know it to be true because:

  1. I know that Western Astrology to be true. Before I dwelt on Feng Shui and Chinese Astrology, Western Astrology was my first interest. My personal bias is that Chinese Astrology is more accurate but it doesn’t change the fact that Western Astrology has some basis.
  2. Mercury Retrograde is a concept that I have read before. In fact, several years back. There are also some famous people who have claimed that they experienced Mercury Retrograde and that it has affected their relationship and work. Some of these people are Ronald Reagan, Cameron Mackintosh, Shirley Maclaine, etc.
  3. The few times I got to meet some reputable Astrologer, this is something that we’ve discussed. And they are all in agreement that this is true.
  4. Particularly this year, when June set in a lot of people have been complaining to me about their relationship problems and communication problems, which prompted me to do more research about this topic.
  5. I believe that it is stronger this year because of several factors that may affect it to become stronger. This is just theory and I didn’t included in the first two article because it is quite difficult for me to substantiate this, but the stronger Hungry Ghost Month this year might be making Mercury Retrograde stronger also.

Second, the stronger Hungry Ghost Month phenomenon is not something new. Although rare it has been known to happen. And it is different from what happened last year, because last year we had a triple whammy, but this year it is simply stronger Hungry Ghost Month that we have to deal with it, and because it is stronger, it also extends itself. As mentioned, I’ve consulted other Feng Shui experts, particularly my teachers; most of them agree that this is indeed the case. However, I would like to clarify that there is one particular Feng Shui expert that said that they (group that she works with) are not sure whether this is an interpretation concern. Meaning, they saw it but they seem to think that this is still subject to further discussion. They are drawing their unclear stand from the ‘Double Negative Theory’; this theory states that in some aspects of Feng Shui a double negative may be a positive sign.

Third, regarding the cures for the 2014 Hungry Ghost Month and Mercury Retrograde, I would like to reiterate that something is still way better than nothing at all.prayer

Lastly, we should not under estimate the power of a prayer. In fact, if you look at the suggested cure, a lot of it is drawing power or protection from Buddhas and Bodhisattvas, and sutras (Buddhist holy texts that are considered prayer books) and mantras, which is a form of praying. On top of this, I personally believe is also going to create some form of protection. Do good deeds, help people, help people you know, but more than that help people that you don’t know. Do something that is beyond what is JUST COMFORTABLE. The positive energy created by a very good deed is a very powerful protection, and remember a good deed is not measure by how many people you help or by how much you spent. A good deed is measured by sincerity, the amount of compassion you have, and how much of you was shared.




For questions, comments and suggestions, please email


One comment on “Clarifications on the Post About the 2014 Hungry Ghost Month and Mercury Retrograde

  • Hi Ricky. Just wanted to ask if you sell an image of Tou mu Niang Niang 斗母娘娘。if so, can you please message me. And also do you perform 開光點眼?

  • Leave a Reply

