Using Technology to Help Us Create Good Chi

Published June 8, 2014 by jptan2012

I often hear people say that technologies like our smart phones, tablets, etc. are modern evil gadgets because it destroys interpersonal relationships and it makes people more dependent on it that some studies show that we have become more stupid. For example, before we will just use our brains to figure a direction to certain location, thereby in the process exercising our gray cells. However, these days most people will just rely on the smartphone app Waze or Google Map. Smart-Phones

My feeling towards the claim that technology is evil, at best is ambivalent, because I cannot deny the fact that it has stop many people from properly communicating with each other. These days, I notice, that the younger generation considers “texting” as a form of communication, they’re no longer interested with calling each other up to really talk with each other. I once heard a guy in his 20s told somebody over the phone – WE WERE JUST TEXTING EACH OTHER EARLIER AND NOW YOU WANT TO TALK AGAIN! – However, come to look at it all kinds of technology or gadgets at that is neither evil or good, it is how we use it, but I won’t deny the fact that it is harder now for us to concentrate on things that matter because of all the possible distraction around us brought about my technology. His Holiness the Dalai Lama although didn’t banned the monks of using mobile phones, he highly discouraged it because he said it will distract them from all the essential things that they should be doing even in the importance of doing nothing.

I know that these days it’s almost impossible for people not to have a mobile phone but the truth is I believe we can also use technology to help improve or develop good chi. For example, if possible use an image of a Buddha or a Bodhisattva or of a mantra as your wallpaper. Every time you look at it, you will surely receive some form of blessings. Also, I have downloaded some sutras both on my smartphone and tablet, so whenever I’m stuck in traffic I will just read the sutras. On top of that, I’ve downloaded a lot of Buddhist chants like the Mantra of the Compassionate Bodhisattva, Kuan Yin (also known as or Chenrezig) – OM MANI PADME HUM, or the Mantra of the Medicine Buddha – TADYATHA OM BHEKANDZYE BHEKANDZYE MAHA BHEKANDZYE RADZA SAMUGATE SOHA, among others. I will play them whenever I’m feeling down or stressed out.

So you see whether these modern technologies and gadgets becomes a tool of evil or goodness is up to us. For me, I just make use of them to improve my chi.buddhist applications

Leave a Reply

