Red: My Pet Dog

Published April 28, 2013 by jptan2012
This is a picture of Red when he was only 1 and 1/2 months old. This was taken at the place where he was born. Took him only on his 2nd month.

This is a picture of Red when he was only 1 and 1/2 months old. This was taken at the place where he was born. Took him only on his 2nd month. Called him Red because he is technically a red toy poodle.

I’ve always loved dogs but for some reason I’ve always been afraid of them. I don’t really know where this fear of anything that’s four legged started, but I was once told by psychic that it can be karmic because of a past life issue. I don’t know whether she’s correct or not, but to this day I’m still unable to explain my fear for anything that’s four legged, specially cats and dogs.

Then again, it can be because of the fact that growing up my elders would always tell us to avoid dogs because they might bite us and that we will die because of its rabies. They will say that full of conviction and with energy as high as that of Superman’s.

Nevertheless, a little more than a month ago, I finally full fill a long time dream to get a pet. It was a long hard decision, but upon convincing of a friend with a little help from his toy poodle, I decided to get my own dog.

It was a tough decision, and while I was very excited, the first 2 days was really emotionally difficult for me. I’m taking on such a big responsibility that I begin to doubt whether I would be able to properly care for my pet, who I decided to call Red.

However, no matter how hyper Red is, he showed me his gentle side and that we need to work together to make it work. Red showed me that he would be willing to listen to me as long as take on the responsibility and that I should act as a leader.

At the moment, I have improved a lot on my relationship with Red. However, it’s a work in progress, I still have much to learn, but one thing is for sure. Red is making me a better person.

2 comments on “Red: My Pet Dog

  • That’s great that you overcame your phobia. Other than the bond between mother and child there is none other than a pet that can provide unconditional love.

  • I undoubtedly checked several sites, blogs, etc, but just Your can make me great feelings even while studying the actual entries about this topic! I congratulate not to mention sincerely aspire you success later in life:)

  • Leave a Reply

