Myth Buster 12: Pets Bring in Good Luck

Published Pebrero 9, 2013 by jptan2012

red poodleOk, I know this will raise some eyebrows. Am I contradicting my previous posts about having pets at home bringing in good Feng Shui? Read on and you’ll see what I’m trying to say.

Feng Shui consultants and experts always say that having pets at home brings in Yang energy that helps in ushering good Feng Shui luck. I’m personally guilty of saying that statement and I’ve done that several times in this blog.

However, an email from two separate readers jolted me from the reality that I, and other Feng Shui writers, consultants, and/or experts have been contributing to the myth that pets brings in good Feng Shui. The statement is not exactly wrong, but failing to clarify things and putting the full context created a myth.

Pets don’t bring in good Feng Shui. Happy, well taken care of, and balanced pets brings in good Feng Shui, any pets in general won’t do that.

I came to this realization when two of my readers emailed me about their pets. One said that she got a dog and was asking how soon will she see their good luck, and the other one emailed me asking whether their 2 rabbits that have been constantly biting each other will create some bad luck for them. These two readers are more concerned about the luck that their pets will bring in rather the welfare of the pets.

Please note that the primary reason of getting a pet shouldn’t be about Feng Shui, and neither it should be having a guard. Personally, I think it should be about trying to extend your love to another living being. For Buddhism, a pet or any living thing at that has a soul, and taking care of a pet is like taking care of the soul who had a bad karma of being born as a lesser being.

If boosting good Feng Shui is as simple as getting a pet, I would have gotten one a long time ago. However, I postponed it for a long time because I’m not sure whether I can properly take care of another living being. It’s a big responsibility. I know that if your dog is not happy, well taken care of, and/or balance, then not only they will not bring in good luck, but more negative karma are created because you then create a depress, imbalance dog with a lot of pent up energy.

So if you’re bigger concern is more about the good Feng Shui and/or the negative energy that you’re fighting pets are creating then you are on the wrong track. You’re concern for your personal luck shouldn’t be above another living being.

 

2 comments on “Myth Buster 12: Pets Bring in Good Luck

  • “Please note that the primary reason of getting a pet shouldn’t be about Feng Shui, and neither it should be having a guard. Personally, I think it should be about trying to extend your love to another living being. For Buddhism, a pet or any living thing at that has a soul, and taking care of a pet is like taking care of the soul who had a bad karma of being born as a lesser being.”

    this is what i also believed. i am teary eyed after reading this. I have a lot of fishes in my aquarium. A lot died as well, though they are well taken care of. there are a lot of instances that these beings would take any bad that would be happening to us. there was a time that we could have been thrown into the rice paddies along nlex because we haven’t seen another vehicle in front of us being fixed, and what they put as EWD was a tire. it was night, a bit rainy. Thanks God, my husband was able to drive through this tire between our vehicle, but prior to our trip, two of red cross fishes are already weak. We are so thankful that these little beings exchanged their lives for our safety.

    I have a lot of stories of our pets exhanging their lives for ours. And I know many can relate to this.

    ThAnks for your blog.

  • Mag-iwan ng Tugon

