My Weight Loss Chicken Stew

Published August 9, 2012 by jptan2012

Trying to lose weight is really one of the hardest things that I’m trying to do in my life. I think it becomes harder because my metabolism is really slow, I love to eat, and I was born fat and has never been really thin my whole life. On top of that, after losing 40 pounds, my body has adjusted to the exercise routine that I have been doing thus I need to push myself further.

Losing weight entails a lot of discipline and self – control, and one of the easiest ways for me is really to take control of what I eat. I need to decide and plan what I eat everyday, it cannot be ‘grab anything when hungry’ type of plan, I really have to plan and think about it.

Taking control and planning also entails that I cook my own food, because my family loves to eat those unhealthy food.

It is because of this that I came across the blog of Ann Curtis’ boyfriend who said that he used to be fat. On his blog he shared a recipe, which I adopted and revised a little base on my taste.

I would like to share this with you now, well, if you like me needs to lose weight.

I’m calling the dish the Weight Loss Chicken Stew…I really don’t know whether I can call it Chicken Stew, but since I don’t know how it is called, I decided to call it as such.

I don’t want to sound ‘mayabang’ or boastful but I honestly think that this is a good, delicious, and healthy dish.

I say healthy because a lot of the ingredients in the dish are what you call negative calorie food. If you want to know more about negative calorie food please read my previous blog about it by clicking here.

Going back to the Weight Loss Chicken Stew…

The ingredients are the following: Celery, carrots, bell pepper, chicken breast fillet (cut into small cubes), chorizo (this is the only unhealthy ingredient of the dish, so don’t put too many of it), onions, chicken stock, paprika, pepper, chick peas (garbanzos).

First, in a pot put a little oil and sauté the onions and chorizo.

Wait until the chorizo has ‘sweat’ a little, put in the celery, carrots, and bell pepper.

Make sure that you stir it so that the ingredients will mix.

After about 2 minutes you can put some chicken stock or for more flavor you can replace this with spaghetti sauce.

Cover the pot for about 5 minutes then put in the chicken, and a generous amount of paprika. Make sure you stir them together.

About 7 minutes, put in the pepper and chickpeas. Again stir the ingredients together.

Cook for 5 more minutes and it’s done! You can put some fresh basil if you want it adds a lot of flavor to the dish.

You notice that I didn’t put in any salt or sugar, because the chicken stock or spaghetti sauce and paprika and pepper will gives flavor to the dish, not to mention the chicken breast, chorizo, and the vegetables contributes to making the dish really flavorful.

Also, notice I didn’t put any measurements as to how much celery you should put, etc. That is because I always ‘play it by ear’. I just make sure that the vegetables are the ¾ part of the dish, the chicken, chick stock, etc, only consists ¼ part of the dish. The chorizo although it adds flavor to the dish should be negligible.

Try it and hope you enjoy the dish. But what I can assure you that it’s heavy on the stomach, but the calories shouldn’t be that high, plus all the vegetables in the dish are negative caloric vegetables so it should not put on too much calories on your body.

I know it doesn’t look very appetizing, and I blame bad lighting and the phone camera phone! Hehehe! But try it. It’s flavorful and healthy.

Leave a Reply

