Suicide is Not a Solution

Published June 27, 2012 by jptan2012

I’ve received some emails from some of you inquiring as to why I haven’t post anything the past few days, in fact, for 20 days. I’ve been quite busy with work and I have to personally attend to two readers who sent me an email about suicide. I’m writing this post with their permission but I won’t really discuss their situation.

It feels weird that I’d received two emails from two different people contemplating suicide. Having a received a number of hoax emails, my initial reaction was to ignore the email or simply write a standard response, however, the emails felt real and more than that it is as if fate has ‘commanded’ to read their emails that day. I received several emails a day, and I have a huge backlog in responding to the said emails, as some of you may have experienced. Nevertheless, for some weird reason my attention was caught by this two different emails sent on two different dates.

There is something about their emails that really bothered me and it seems like there was a force that push me to reply. To make the long story short, I soon found out that those were real email, and real situations. The first thing that I did was to recognize the gravity of the situation, and the second thing that I did was to recognize the fact that I’m not trained to handle these kinds of situations.

I called up a clinical counselor friend to inquire how to handle the situation, she recommended some ways on how should I respond and then I hooked the two readers with her.

For Christians, suicide is a grave sin, and we’re taught that committing suicide will surely make your soul burn in hell for all eternity. In Buddhism and Taoism, it’s much more complicated, there is no clear response whether it is a sin or not. It really depends on the situation and the intent of the deed. However, one thing is clear though, suicide is not a solution.

In a Buddhist perspective, we are here on earth to achieve Buddhahood. Each lifetime is a consequence of a previous one and hopefully, the last one is always a little better than the previous one, until, one reaches Buddhahood. Unless, in extreme cases like when one commits suicide to save somebody else, or a nation, etc., committing suicide is definitely a solution, and it pulls you back several karma back from attaining Buddhahood.

It is in this sense, that for Buddhism, it is quite clear that suicide is not a solution, committing suicide will definitely bring you back to the same solution in your next lifetime or maybe even put you to a situation that’s even worse than your current situation.

If one is depressed and/or is contemplating suicide, the first thing that one should recognize is that you need to talk to somebody. It can be a relative, friend, or try one of those counseling hotlines.

If you’re Buddhist, you can also constantly recite the Mantra of the Buddha of Compassion – OM MANI PADME HUM.

If you’re Taoist, you can simply take a bath in a tub of water with salt. If possible do include some flowers.

If you believe in Feng Shui, you can also do the first two, and you can put salt in your room and make sure your room or house is well lit.

But most important of all, seek help!

3 comments on “Suicide is Not a Solution

  • I agree that suicide is not the solution! I attempt suicide before but I realized that living in this world is so much joy if u learn to face your problems with somebody to lean on. Being depressed and frustrated doesn’t mean that u need to attempt suicide, learn to play with fate. Write stories that will encourage u that u need to live life to its fullest=) i like this articles. it helps me share my own experience as an individual. God bless and keep writing

  • Leave a Reply

