A Feng Shui Gift of Protection for Your Mom on Mother’s Day!

Published May 12, 2012 by jptan2012

Several of my readers emailed me to inquire as to what is the best Feng Shui gift to be given to a mother.

The truth is Feng Shui is personal and while there are some Feng Shui recommendations that can be ‘generally’ given, the real essence of Feng Shui is quite personal and one has to look at the Bazi of the person.

Our mom is the most precious gift we have and I believe the most valuable gift we can give our mom is the gift of protection. I personally am very thankful that I thought of giving a gift of protection to my mom, and I didn’t realize then that it is something that would save her life.

I have been practicing and studying Feng Shui then, when all of a sudden I thought of giving my mom a special protection Feng Shui charm or amulet. She was scheduled to go out-of-town with her sister and my cousin, and I thought I’ll give her something that she may use as a protection.

Two days after receiving the Feng Shui protection amulet, she fell ill. She had diarrhea, and high fever. It was so bad that we have to call a doctor friend to see her at home, on top of that she has to fed by my sister and was confined in her room for a complete bed rest. My sister who is also familiar with Feng Shui told me that I might have given my mom a wrong Feng Shui amulet. When I assured her that I’m sure that I gave her something that’s appropriate for my mom, she inquired then whether I did clean off the Feng Shui amulet of any negative chi that it might have acquired since the amulet was made of a crystal. I assured her that I cleansed of the amulet from any chi it has acquired.

We decided to let my mom take off the amulet. But since she was still ill, she wasn’t able to join my aunt and cousin. Little did we know then that the illness would save her from a terrible accident.

Without going into detail, my aunt and cousin had an accident. It was so bad that they were badly injured. My mom would have been in the same car if she didn’t get ill.

I would like to point out to points here. First, an amulet may work in a seemingly bad way, but in effect it is just preventing you from a bigger harm, and second, I believe that gift of protection saved my mom.

I still believe that that was the best gift I’ve ever given my mom.

So if you’re inclined to give a Feng Shui gift for your mom, why don’t it be a gift of protection.

There are several protection Feng Shui amulet or charm that you can give like Sun Wukong pendant, Kuan Kong pendant, etc. However, I believe the following are very good for mothers.

KUAN YIN PENDANT. Kuan Yin, for those who are not familiar,  is like the Virgin Mary of the Buddhist. But I need to stress that Kuan Yin is a Celestial Being although some people do believe that she came to earth in the form of Princess Miao Shan. Also, if we are to talk about Kuan Yin and the Virgin Mary as a concept, Kuan Yin is so much older then the Virgin Mary. In fact, some people believe that the concept of Virgin Mary was derived from that of Kuan Yin.

This is from my personal collection. The reason I love this pendants so much is because it has a inscription of the Heart Sutra at the back. I wear the smaller one everyday.

I think all mothers should have a Kuan Yin pendant or an image of Kuan Yin because Kuan Yin for the Chinese Buddhist represents the most ideal trait of a mother – infinite compassion, specially to her ‘children’.


THE SYMBOLIC SCRIPT OF AMITABHA BUDDHA’S MANTRA. Amitabha Buddha’s mantra which is OM AMI DEWA HRIH is one of the most powerful protection mantra. Wearing or carrying a symbolic script of the said mantra will continuously protect your mothers.

This is the symbolic script of the mantra of Amitabha Buddha, which is also a very good protection mantra. If you’re budget is tight, you can simply print this symbolic script, put in a red envelope and give it to your mom for her to carry everyday.

To know more about MANTRAS, please do read my previous post called – ‘MANTRA: THE INSTRUMENT TO TAP THE POWER OF THE SYMBOLIC SOUND, SCRIPT, AND THOUGHT’. 

GODDESS TARA PENDANT OR THE SYMBOLIC SCRIPT OF GODDESS TARA’S MANTRA. Goddess Tara is also called the Swift Liberator, just like our mothers, Goddess Tara is very quick to response to our plea. Goddess Tara is very good for mothers who has teenage kids and are starting to explore an ‘independent’ life by going out more often on their own. Every time a mother starts worrying about their kids who may still be out late in the evening, can call on Goddess Tara to ensure that their kids are kept safe.

To know more about Goddess Tara you can read the following posts – ‘GODDESS TARA, THE MOTHER OF SWIFT LIBERATION’ and ‘PAYING HOMAGE TO GODDESS TARA’.

This is a jade Goddess Tara pendant from my personal collection.

One other factor to ensure that your mom’s luck is kept intact and that she’s continuously protected through Feng Shui is to ensure that the Southwest section of your house should be ‘present’. Meaning, it should be habited and used, and that area do not function as a storage area. It’s also good to keep the Southwest section of the house well lit to help ensure that the mom of the house always has good chi.

4 comments on “A Feng Shui Gift of Protection for Your Mom on Mother’s Day!

  • JP

    I Hope all is well. Is there a website or particular place where you purchase your Kuan Yin? Cause everyone one your pendents I see on your website are different and beautiful. Especially the Kuan Yin and Green Tara where can I find the Kuan Yin one with the mantra on the back?

  • where do you get your lovely KUAN YIN PENDANT?
    is there somewhere we can order.
    You have such beautiful collection.

  • Hi! Thanks for reading the blog. The bigger silver pendant is available in Amazon or Ebay. The smaller one is available in several Hong Kong or Manila, Philippines, Chinatown jewelry shop.

  • Leave a Reply

