Myth Buster 9: Bonsai Plants are Auspicious

Published May 8, 2012 by jptan2012

A few years back a cousin requested for my help because he was encountering some financial difficulty. While his situation is not yet critical, his financial growth became stagnant. This is worrisome because the projected financial growth of his business is not meeting its expectations. He is also especially worried because he was relatively newly married (about a year) at that time and his wife was pregnant with their first baby. So the stress that he must be feeling is quite expected.

My cousin has always followed Feng Shui and I know that he has good business acumen. On top of that, his wife, before they got married, was base in Japan as a financial consultant and from what I know she is also shrewd when it comes to business. So I really wondered what could be wrong.

I did the Feng Shui of the house and office of my cousin, and he clarified that they hadn’t done much of a renovation. He also clarified, that his wife whose hobby is to do gardening is taking care of their garden pretty well. I inquired about their garden because I know that my cousin’s financial luck is largely ruled by the South where their garden is. Unable to find anything wrong, I decided to go and pay them a visit. I thought maybe there’s a new house or building around their area that’s affecting their Feng Shui.

Everything seems to be fine around their house, and inside their house everything was pretty much done the way I suggested. But when I saw their garden, I saw that while it’s now more beautiful and properly taken care of there’s something that might have been affecting their financial situation. Bonsai plants. My cousin-in-law who lived in Japan for about 7 years got fascinated with bonsai plants and went to study how to make bonsai plants.

My Feng Shui experience didn’t really involve so much bonsai plants so I really can’t be sure whether it’s the one causing the stagnant ‘growth’ of the financial growth of my cousin. However, I specifically remember that when I was in one of my Feng Shui class in Hong Kong, my Feng Shui teacher and a classmate talked about bonsai plants. Our teacher was explaining why Bonsai are unlucky, and my Japanese classmate was saying that it couldn’t be true because Japan and most Japanese who loves Bonsai are actually lucky. I really didn’t remember much of their argument but I told my cousin that the bonsai plants might be the one causing their financial concerns.

Bonsai may be pretty to look at, but because they’re stunted plants they’re essentially inauspicious.

Base on my own understanding, this is because Bonsai plants, while they’re really exquisite and pretty to look at, and can be considered to be quite an art, they’re actually not naturally small, they were stunted. Technically speaking, you have to ‘destroy’ their natural growth process for them to be small, you affect their Sheng Chi. Sheng Chi basically refers to growth, and in Feng Shui anything that is ‘stunted’ is essentially bad.

Of course, my cousin and cousin-in-law gave the same argument that my Japanese classmate raised. I told them that I’ll try to research more about it and will get back to them regarding the matter.

I called up my Hong Kong Feng Shui teacher, but just to be sure I also called up my Feng Shui teacher in Singapore. While they both essentially follow different school of thought of Feng Shui they both agreed that Bonsai plants creates bad Feng Shui. They also said that my interpretation was correct.

After being validated, I then have to raise the question if Bonsai creates bad Feng Shui, why then is Japan very successful. They said that while Bonsai is quite famous in Japan, the truth is very few people has them at home, this is because it is very hard to take care of it. Also, Bonsai only affects the luck of the sector where it is located. The bad effect to my cousin is with his financial growth because it was placed in his luck sector. If it was placed in the descendant luck sector, then the effect could be the absence of a children or bad descendant luck.

They also both said that they believe that it is affecting Japan’s descendant luck. They both said that Japan’s population is quite old, their old people are more than the younger ones, economically speaking for a country this is not a sound situation. They also added that Japan’s youth are not as respectful to their elders compared to their neighboring Asian countries.

Going back to my cousin, since my cousin – in – law is really unable to give up her Bonsai plants, I just had them place at a different section of their house. A sector where both of them won’t be really affected. I would have preferred that they totally get rid of the Bonsais but then again it’s an art for my cousin – in –law and there’s some emotional attachment. However, when their financial situation improved again after they transferred the bonsais, my cousin – in – law was the one who decided to totally get rid of the bonsais.

4 comments on “Myth Buster 9: Bonsai Plants are Auspicious

  • well i agree its bad feng shui and i’m speaking from personal experience, the day i bought one and put it on my desk at my office, my luck went downhill! seriously in 1 week, i was about to lose my job because of some stupid problem! i immediately removed it and after a while, i got back on my base! omg the horror i had to indure for putting that bonsai in my office -__- , it doesnt look like a tree to me anymore, but like an old evil witch! i never knew it was not a natural tree, and that it is stunned. wow . figures.

  • Leave a Reply

