What is Feng Shui Kua Number and How to Calculate It

Published Mayo 5, 2012 by jptan2012

There are so many things that I want to write about that I’m unable to do so because it would require that you should have a prior knowledge of some things like your KUA NUMBER, your BASKET OF ELEMENTS and it’s WEIGHTING, etc. But some of these things would need a lot of dedication and time for you to be able to really do it yourself. I’m not sure whether I’m ready or capable of doing a ‘blog tutorial’ type of lesson. However, counting your Kua number is something that you can learn really fast so I’ve decided to share it with you now.

There are different Feng Shui schools of thought, and one of them is the Compass Feng Shui. Calculating the Kua number is a sub-thought of the Compass Feng Shui.

Basically your Kua number determines the lucky and unlucky directions of your life. I’ll discuss about these lucky and unlucky directions in details on my next post. But knowing your Kua number will determine whether you are an East or West group person and your corresponding lucky and unlucky directions.

The numbers one (1), three (3), four (4) and nine (9) belongs to the East Group. The numbers two (2), six (6), seven (7) and eight (8) belongs to the West Group. The number 5 (five) is replace by eight (8) for women, and by two (2) for men.

The four lucks are: SHENG CHI (Success), TIEN YI (HEALTH), NIEN YEN (Relationship/Love) and FU WEI (Personal Development/Growth).

The four bad lucks are: HO HAI (Unlucky), WU KWEI (Five Ghosts), LIU SHA (6 Killing), CHUEH MING (Total Loss).

If you wish to know more about these lucks and bad lucks please do read my posts FOUR DIFFERENT TYPES OF LUCK BASE ON YOUR KUA NUMBER and FOUR DIFFERENT TYPES OF BAD LUCK BASE ON YOUR KUA NUMBER.

If your Kua Number is 1 your lucky directions are – SouthEast (SHENG CHI), East (TIEN YI), South (NIEN YEN) and North (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – West (HO HAI), NorthEast (WU KWEI), NorthWest (LIU SHA), SouthWest (CHUEH MING).

If your Kua Number is 2 your lucky directions are – NorthEast (SHENG CHI), West (TIEN YI), NorthWest (NIEN YEN), and SouthWest (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – East (HO HAI), SouthEast (WU KWEI), South (LIU SHA), and North (CHUEH MING)

If your Kua Number is 3 your lucky directions are – South (SHENG CHI), North (TIEN YI), SouthEast (NIEN YEN), and East (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – SouthWest (HO HAI), NorthWest (WU KWEI), NorthEast (LIU SHA), and West (CHUEH MING).

If your Kua Number is 4 your lucky directions are – North (SHENG CHI), South ( TIEN YI), East (NIEN YEN), and SouthEast (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – Northwest (HO HAI), SouthWest (WU KWEI), West (LIU SHA), and NorthEast (CHUEH MING).

If your Kua Number is 6 your lucky directions are – West (SHENG CHI), NorthEast (TIEN YI), SouthWest (NIEN YEN), NorthWest (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are SouthEast (HO HAI), East (WU KWEI), North (LIU SHA), South (CHEUH MING)

If your Kua Number is 7, your lucky directions are – NorthWest (SHENG CHI), SouthWest (TIEN YI), NorthEast (NIEN YEN), and West (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – North (HO HAI), South (WU KWEI), SouthEast (LIU SHA), and East (Chueh Ming).

If your Kua Number is 8, your lucky directions are – SouthWest (SHENG CHI), NorthWest (TIEN YI), West (NIEN YEN) and NorthEast (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – South (HO HAI), North (WU KWEI), East (LIU SHA), and SouthEast (CHEUH MING).

If your Kua Number is 9, your lucky directions are – East (SHENG CHI), SouthEast (TIEN YI), North (NIEN YEN), and South (FU WEI). Your unlucky directions are – NorthEast (HO HAI), West (WU KWEI), SouthWest (LIU SHA), and NorthWest (CHUEH MING).

Calculating the Kua number of a guy from a girl slightly differ from each other. For the guy, what you need to do is take the last 2 digits of your birth year. Add them together and keep on adding them until you get a single digit. If you were born before the year 2000, deduct this number from the number 10, and 9 if you were born in the year 2000 or later. The result is your Kua number.

For example: 1973 (7+3=10 / 1+0=1 / 10-1=9) Kua Number is 9

For the women, you also take the last two digits of your birth year. Add them together and keep on adding until you get a single digit. Add 5 to this number if you were born before the year 2000, add 6 if you were born in the year 2000 or later. If the result is a two digit number, keep adding it again until you again get a single digit. This is your Kua number.

Please note that if you were born before Feb. 4 of the year, your birth year is that of the year before. For example, if you were born between Jan. 1 and Feb. 3, your birth year is that of the previous year. Let’s say you were born on Feb. 3, 2000, that means your birth year is still 1999.

15 comments on “What is Feng Shui Kua Number and How to Calculate It

  • Thank you for the Feng Shui KUA number information. My question is what is to be done if my husband and I just purchased a home in the SE part of the country, in Clearwater, Fla.? Although we are in the Western part of the state, I guess that would be okay?
    Our numbers are 6 and 2

  • One technique is really don’t sweat it out. Meaning, if it is something that you are unable to change, just make sure that your personal Feng Shui, the Feng Shui of your house and your immediate surrounding are taken care of properly.

  • I was born 12/01/72. I have added 7+2=9
    so you mention adding 5 if you were born
    Befor 2000. 9+5=14
    1+4=5
    And there is no Kua number 5?
    so what would my Kua number be?

  • I’m afraid I’m unable to take in requests for a Bazi analysis at the moment. There’s just too many pending request and I still haven’t deliver most of them. I’m also busy with my business. Apologies.

  • Hello Mr. Lee,
    Is it possible that you could give us information about feng shui tips/cure for suceeding in education or passing exams for students? Thank you so much for your valuable time and generous help.
    Warm regards,

    Julie

  • Hi, again, JP,

    I am so sorry for mistaken your name. I know you are pretty busy; I am sorry for bothering you again. It would be so helpful and appreciated if you could write about the feng shui for students a bit soon. I have an entrance exams for grad schools in next week and the other is on september. I check your blog daily 🙂
    Once again, thank you so much for your valuable time.
    Warm regards,

    Julie
    P.S: I love your blog since there are so many valuable and interesting information
    Please give alternative feng shui items since i might not find it in U.S

  • Hi, i am a Kua number 4 female, unfortunately my bed is in the east corner of the house but my head is pointing NE while I am sleeping as it is at the NE wall. I have a wood board between the bed on the wall. I can not change the position. Is there a cure I can use against the total loss? Please help me,
    Sincerely
    Nora

  • Just moved into a home and the only direction my bed can face is with my head toward west. I am Kua 4 and am very concerned about this. I have symmetry on both sides of the bed, but am hoping for more info to “protect” myself from Total loss/Destruction/etc…

  • My house main door face North, and my kua is 2. According to kua 2, north is my worst direction. As such is the house not good for me.? or how i should overcome this as i need to use the door for in and out.

  • Mag-iwan ng Tugon

